Why have I been logged out of SmartEncrypt?

Why have I been logged out of SmartEncrypt?

In order to protect your encrypted files, the SmartEncrypt software regularly verifies whether or not you are authorised to access your files against the remote server.  If you are disconnected from the internet for an extended period, the software is no longer able to complete the re-verification process and the current session is terminated.
This precaution ensures encrypted files are protected in the event a device is left unattended for any reason. When you are logged out of the software, local copies of encryption keys are removed, so files cannot be accessed until you are logged in again.

Manual login

If you use your email address and a password to log in, simply click on the Close button to dismiss the SmartEncrypt Login Expired notification dialog and enter your username (email address) and password as you usually would.


SSO login

For SSO users, click on the Login button to automatically log in using your previously configured company credentials



Good to know...
  1. When you leave your device so that it goes into sleep mode, it loses connection to the internet, which will cause your session to time out.
  2. Reauthenticating refreshes your access to any encryption keys assigned to you



    • Related Articles

    • Installing the SmartEncrypt desktop client

      Before you start...  Before you install the SmartEncrypt software, check the following: You have a SmartEncrypt account - if not, ask your IT administrator to create one for you. Your computer meets the system requirements:  Windows 10 version 1809 ...
    • Sharing files with non-SmartEncrypt users with Protect and Share

      SmartEncrypt "Protect and Share" enables you to securely share sensitive files with recipients outside your organisation. Once a PIN is defined, files are encrypted and converted to an HTML file protected by the PIN. Recipients are able to then ...
    • How to recognise encrypted files and folders

      SmartEncrypt encrypts files automatically wherever there is an Encryption Rule in place.  This means that any file added to, edited or created in a location governed by an Encryption Rule will be encrypted on-the-fly.  Recognising encrypted files ...
    • Partner Resources & Tools

      The following resources may be of assistance to rhipe SmartEncrypt Partners SmartEncrypt Deployment Scenarios SmartEncrypt FAQs
    • Device Blocking

      Overview The SmartEncrypt Management Console also offers basic device Management whereby Administrators can control which devices users can use to log in to the SmartEncrypt desktop client to access files.     Key Features Name - The name of the ...